Sohra (Cherrapunjee)
Location 25° 30' N and 91° 70' E
Established 1982 (View Notification)
District East Khasi Hills
Sub-Division jurisdiction North - Umtyngngar
South - Shella - Majai
East - Nongjri-Umniuh
West - Laitkynsew - Nongwar
Developmental Blocks

a) Shella-Bholaganj C & RD Block and

b) Khatarshnong-Laitkroh C & RD Block

Villages , Syiemship  And Sirdarships under Sohra Administrative Unit Sohra (syiemship Excluding Mawspong, Dewkher, and Diengdat Villages) , Shella Wahadadarship,  Nonglyngkien Sirdarship, Tynrong Sirdarship, Nongriat Sirdarship, Ramdait Sirdarship, Nonglait Sirdarship, Sinai Mawshynrut Sirdarship, Synnei Sirdarship, Nongshluid Sirdarship, Mawbeh Sirdarship, Mawlong Sirdarship, Mawmluh Sirdarship, Byrong Sirdarship, Mawsmai Sirdarship, Mawthang Sohkhyllung Sirdarship, Nongjri Sirdarship,Nongbah sirdarship, Saitsohpen Sirdarship, Sohbar Sirdarship, Nongkroh Sirdarship, Tyrna Sirdarship, Mynteng Sirdarship Nonglwai (Kukon) Sirdarship, Laitkynsew and Sohrarim Villages of Nongkhlaw Sirdarship.
Elevation 1484 m (4869 ft.)
Population density 375 per km² (2001), 397 per km² (2011)
a) Male Population 49% (2011)
b) Female Population 51% (2011)
Literacy rate 74% (2011)
Language Khasi
Constituentcy 2 nos., 26-Shella (ST) and 28-Sohra (ST) Assembly Constituentcy

The Sub Division
The SDO Civil Office
Citizen Services
Whats' new?
Visitor No.:
Visitor Counter

Updated on 27-01-2017

Disclaimer|Site designed and developed by Computer Cell, Office of The Sub-Divisional Officer (Civil) and Hosted by NIC, Meghalaya. Best viewed at 1024 x 768 resolution in I.E 8 or above, Mozilla 3.6 or above, Google Chrome 3 or above, Safari 5.0 +
Follow us on Facebook Follow us on Twitter Follow us on Youtube