About :

Sohra Sub-Treasury, was set up at Sohra Civil Sub-Division in 1989 with the commencement of Government Transactions from the 11th April 1989. The Treasury, which is accommodated in the office building of the Sub-Divisional Officer, Civil Sub-Division Sohra, was initially a Non-Banking Treasury and later was converted to a Banking Treasury (the cash business of which is conducted by the Bank) with effect from 2nd January 2008.


Office Address: O/o The Treasury Officer, Sohra Sub-Treasury, Sub Divisional Office (C) Building, Saitsohpen, Sohra 793108.

Office Phone No. 03637235210. Email ID:   tosohsubt-meg(at)nic[dot]in

Role and Function:

The purpose of setting up the Sub-Treasury at Sohra is to cater to the transactions pertaining to receipts and payments on account of the State Government relating to the various Departments setup within the jurisdiction of the Sohra Sub Division. Besides, it also acts as the drawing and disbursing Office for all classes of Pensions (pensioners residing within Sohra Sub Division) prior to Centralization of the same through the Nodal Treasury Office, Shillong South Treasury with effect from August 2010.

In short, the Treasury acts and functions as the Custodian of Government Receipts and Clearing House for payment of Government money.

For proper discharge to the above mentioned functions, the Treasury Officer is responsible primarily for thorough observance of all rules prescribed for his guidance in every branch of his duties and for strict attention to all details of the daily routine of the treasury work.


The Treasury Officer is responsible for keeping the Accounts of the Treasury strictly in accordance with the directions contained in the Accounting Rules for Treasuries, for all initial records and vouchers, regularity of all transactions taking place at the Treasury and prompt submission of monthly Compiled Accounts to the Accountant General.

Organisational Setup :

The Organisational setup / Manpower strength (Sanctioned Posts) of the Sohra Sub-Treasury as on date consist of :

  1. Treasury Officer – Head of the Office.(borne from the Meghalaya Finance Service Cadre)
  2. 1(one) Asst. System Administrator.
  3. 2 (two) Senior Accounts Assistant.
  4. 4 (three) Junior Accounts Assistant.
  5. 2 (two) Office Peon.
  6. 1 (one) Office Chowkida

Incumbency :

The office of the Treasury Officer, (borne from the Meghalaya Finance Service Cadre) Sohra Sub-Treasury since inception have been held by the following officers:-

  1. Shri. S.M.R. Sawkmie w.e.f. 11.4.1989 to 16.10.1990.
  2. Shri. A. Blah w.e.f. 29.10.1990 to 19.01.1993.
  3. Shri.A. Dkhar  w.e.f. 19.01.1993 to 05.12.1996.
  4. Shri.F. Kharir  w.e.f. 05.12.1996 to 10.05.1999.>
  5. Smt.L. Sohlang  w.e.f. 10.05.1999 to 26.09.2000.
  6. Shri. Arnold S. Hooroo   w.e.f. 11.10.2000 to 30.09.2008.
  7. Shri.Donfelix Warjri w.e.f. 01.10.2008 to 12.10.2011
  8. Smt.C.Langstieh w.e.f. 13.10.2011 till date.

Control :

The Treasury operates under the immediate executive control of the Treasury Officer who is under the direct control of the Director of Accounts and Treasuries, Meghalaya, Shillong.


With a view to achieve better fiscal management and control, faster decision making and better governance, the computerisation of Treasuries under the browser-based TreasuryNET was implemented and at present the Sohra Sub Treasury lacks the external network connectivity to fully function into the e-world through the TreasuryNET application.

Disclaimer | Content provided by O/o The Treasury Officer, Sohra Sub- Treasury, Sohra Civil Sub-Division.

Disclaimer|Site designed and developed by Computer Cell, Office of The Sub-Divisional Officer (Civil) and Hosted by NIC, Meghalaya. Best viewed at 1024 x 768 resolution in I.E 8 or above, Mozilla 3.6 or above, Google Chrome 3 or above, Safari 5.0 +
Follow us on Facebook Follow us on Twitter Follow us on Youtube