National Voters’ Day, Sohra Jan 25 th, 2015

Banner at the Main Venue
Shri.Lynkor Kynjing, MCS, BDO, Shella-Bholaganj, delivering the Welcome Speech
Kum.Syrpailin Khriem, a young voter, delivering her speech

In its endeavor to overcome the problem of under-registration of newly eligible voters, especially those who have attained the age of 18 years as on the 1st of every year, the Election Commission of India has adopted a rigorous exercise to identify such voters and felicitate them on the Commissions’ Foundation Day, i.e. on 25th January every year. This initiative is expected to give the youth a sense of citizenship, pride and participation and also inspire them to exercise their franchise when the occasion comes.

As part of the 5th National Voters Day Celebration, the main thrust areas were :

  • Enhancement of youth participation by organizing “Young Voter’s Festival”
  • Enhancement of Women participation by staging women-specific SVEEP campaign
  • Inclusive Participation for persons with disabilities, homeless persons, marginalized sections and others.
  • Environment Building by engaging various forms of media-print, audio-visual, outdoor advertisement etc.
  • Partnership with Educational Institutions, Civil Societies, Corporate Houses and PSUs, etc.

The National Voters Day Celebration in Sohra was chaired by Shri.L.Kynjing, MCS, Block Development Officer, Shella-Bholagank, C. & N. R. D., Block, Shella, who extended a warm welcome to one and all in the gathering. He expressed his appreciation to Shri.Ajay Tomer Singh, IAS, The Sub-Divisional Officer (Civil), Sohra Civil Sub-Division and The Electoral Registration Officer for 26-Shella (ST) A/C & 28-Sohra (ST) A/C and the Staff from the O/o The S.D.O. Civil for their efforts to organise the event.


Kum.Syrpailin Khriem, one of the youngest voter enrolled, expressed her happiness, for being enrolled in the Electoral Roll of 26-Shella (ST) Assembly Constituentcy. She thanked the Office of The Electoral Registration Officer for taking all the initiatives to enrol young and old voters alike. "Mere possession of an EPIC card and enrollment in the Electoral Roll isn't sufficient, but, active participation in all democratic processes is the key" said the young voter. The speaker urged the youths of her age and every genuine citizens of India alike to get themselves enrolled and elect representatives who are clean and have genuine interest in working towards developing the region.


In his speech Shri.B.Tariang, Headman, Khliehshnong locality, expressed his appreciation to the Sub-Divisional Officer (Civil) and all the others for extending all efforts to maximize enrollment. The Headman appreciated the efforts of the Booth Level Officers who from time to time work tirelessly to make enrollment of voters a success.


Shri.N.Hajong, MCS, Extra Assistant Commissioner, Sohra, highlighted the gathering on the Role & Functions of the Election Commission of India. He opined that, the Election Commission of India is an autonomous, constitutionally established federal authority responsible for administering all the electoral processes in the Republic of India. Under the supervision of the commission, free and fair elections are being held in India at regular intervals as per the principles enshrined in the Constitution. Shri. Hajong, eulogised the Young Voters and instilled pride in them for having come off age and for getting themselves enrolled in the Electoral Roll. He also commented on the theme chosen by ECI, 'Easy Registration, Easy Correction". He stated that total registration of voters has always been a challenging task, considering the physical topography, distance from the registration office and mostly ignorance on the part of the people. While appreciating the role played by the Booth Level Officers, Shri. Hajong, encouraged the participation of one and all to stregthen democracy, because 'greater participation ushers stronger democracy'.


The reading of the National Voters' Day pledge was led by the Chief Guest Shri.Ajay Tomer Singh, IAS, Sub-Divisional Officer (Civil), Sohra Civil Sub-Division, Sohra.. Following the reading of the pledge, the Electoral Photo Identity Card (EPIC), of the newly enrolled Young Voters was also distibuted by the Chief Guest.


The celebration came to an end with a Vote of Thanks by Smt.E.Warjri, MCS, Block Development Officer, Laitkroh-Khatarshnong C. & R.D. Block.


Shri.N.Hajong, MCS, delivers a speech on function of the Election Commission of India
Shri.Ajay Tomer Singh, IAS, Sub-Divisional Officer (C), Sohra & Electoral Registration Officer, 26-Shella (ST) & 28-Sohra (ST) A/C, leading the Voters Pledge
Shri.Ajay Tomer Singh, IAS, distributes EPIC and Voters batch to new voters
Smt.E.Warjri, MCS, BDO Laitkroh-Khatarshnong, presenting her Vote of Thanks.
A section of the audience
The Booth Level Officers at the Special Campaign for new voters


View NVD 2015 Celebration Photo Gallery

Disclaimer|Site designed and developed by Computer Cell, Office of The Sub-Divisional Officer (Civil) and Hosted by NIC, Meghalaya. Best viewed at 1024 x 768 resolution in I.E 8 or above, Mozilla 3.6 or above, Google Chrome 3 or above, Safari 5.0 +
Follow us on Facebook Follow us on Twitter Follow us on Youtube